Prof. Dr. Stephan Rixen

Universität_beratung_konflikt__ombudsman für die wissenschaft

Stephan Rixen has held the Chair of Public Law, the Law on Social Economics and on Health (Chair of Public Law I) at the University of Bayreuth since 2010. After studying law in Tübingen and Leuven (Belgium) and obtaining his doctorate at the Justus Liebig University in Gießen (1998), he initially worked as a lawyer in Berlin. From 2001 onwards, he worked as a research assistant at the Institute for Constitutional Law and the Research Centre for Health Law at the University of Cologne associated with the Institute, where he also received his habilitation in 2004. Before transferring to the University of Bayreuth, he held the Chair of Law on Social Services and Facilities at the University of Kassel from 2007 to 2010. He was also Dean there from October 2008 to March 2010. His research focuses on constitutional and administrative law (in particular public commercial law), on German and European social law (including child and youth welfare law), and on the law on health.

In addition to his professorship, Stephan Rixen is an active member of various scientific committees. He is for instance a member of the Expert Commission for the Second Gender Equality Report of the Federal Government (Berlin), and of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Max Planck Institute for Social Law and Social Policy (Munich). He was also a member of the Commission for Research Integrity of the Austrian Agency for Research Integrity (ÖAWI) from 2012 to 2018, and has held the position of Chairman of the Commission since 2015. Stephan Rixen furthermore chairs the Committee for Academic Self-Regulation at the University of Bayreuth.

Since 2015, Stephan Rixen has been a member of the “German Research Ombudsman” Committee appointed by the German Research Foundation (DFG). He has been the spokesperson for the Ombuds Committee since 2016.

Back to the Committee
Back to the Committee

Find German interviews and publications regarding GSP by current and former members of the “German Research Ombudsman” Committee here.

Titelfoto via Pixabay