The German Research Ombudsman


Ombuds Committee for scientific integrity in Germany

The German Research Ombudsman (Ombudsman für die Wissenschaft) is a committee that assists all scientists and researchers in Germany when it comes to questions and conflicts related to good scientific practice (GSP) and scientific integrity. The Ombuds Committee is supported in its deliberations and conflict mediation by an office that is located in Berlin.

The deliberations of the Ombudsman are orientated in line with the 17 recommendations for “Safeguarding Good Scientific Practice” (see the DFG’s white paper, supplemented and updated in 2013). Everyone is free to contact either the German Research Ombudsman or a local ombudsperson at a university or non-university research institution.

As a matter of principle, the Ombudsman treats all enquiries neutrally, fairly and in strict confidence.

Tasks



  • Advising

    The Ombudsman provides confidential advice on matters of research integrity and in specific cases of conflict (including by telephone through the administrative office).

  • Mediation

    Where conflicts related to good scientific practice occur, the Ombudsman assists by means of solution-orientated conflict mediation, following the rules of GSP.

  • Events

    The Ombudsman organises events on good scientific practice, and regularly gives lectures on its own work (enquiries can be submitted at any time).

  • Networking

    The Ombudsman networks at national and international level with experts in the sphere of scientific integrity. On the basis of its experience in individual cases, its makes an active contribution towards refining and updating the recommendations on GSP.

    The Office


    The office is the first point of contact for questions on research integrity. It initially advises enquirers by telephone if required. In the same way as the Ombudsman Committee, the staff of the Ombudsman’s office also treat all enquiries in strict confidence.

    If enquiries are submitted to the office in writing, the office verifies that the documents are complete and forwards them to the members of the Committee. The office may first ask questions in order to clarify the facts put forward, or may ask for supporting documents.

    Research Associates:

    Dr. Hjördis Czesnick (Head of Office)
    Fanny Oehme, M.Sc.
    Saskia Welde, M.A.

    Student Assistant:

    Leander Raape

    Image Image Image
    Kontakt zum Ombudsman
    Contact the Ombudsman

    The Committee


    The Committee of the German Research Ombudsman is appointed by the Senate of the German Research Foundation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, or DFG). The Committee operates on a voluntary basis. All enquiries are deliberated on jointly, and all assessments are reached jointly. It acts independently when giving advice and in its mediation. The DFG is not involved in the ombuds procedure, nor is it informed of the content of such proceedings.

    The term of office of the members of the Ombuds Committee is four years; they can be re-appointed for further terms.

    The current spokesperson of the Ombuds Committee is Professor Dr. Stephan Rixen.

    Image

    Prof. Dr. Stephan Rixen (spokesman)

    University of Bayreuth
     Law


    LEARN MORE
    Image

    Prof. Dr. Renate Scheibe

    University of Osnabrück
    Biology


    LEARN MORE
    Image

    Prof. Dr. Daniela N. Männel

    University of Regensburg
    Medical Science


    LEARN MORE
    Image

    Prof. Dr. Joachim Heberle

    Freie Universität Berlin
    Physics


    LEARN MORE

Ombudsman für die Wissenschaft


Ombudsgremium für wissenschaftliche Integrität in Deutschland

Der Ombudsman für die Wissenschaft ist ein von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) eingesetztes Gremium, das allen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern in Deutschland bei Fragen und Konflikten im Bereich guter wissenschaftlicher Praxis (GWP) bzw. wissenschaftlicher Integrität zur Seite steht. Das Ombudsgremium wird bei seinen Beratungen und Konfliktvermittlungen von einer in Berlin ansässigen Geschäftsstelle unterstützt.

Die Beratungen des Ombudsman sind an den 19 „Leitlinien zur Sicherung guter wissenschaftlicher Praxis“ (siehe DFG-Kodex 2019) orientiert. Es steht jedem frei, sich entweder an den Ombudsman für die Wissenschaft oder an eine lokale Ombudsperson an einer Hochschule oder einer außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtung zu wenden.

Der Ombudsman behandelt alle Anfragen grundsätzlich neutral, fair und strikt vertraulich.

Aufgaben



  • Beratung

    Der Ombudsman berät vertraulich bei Fragen zur wissenschaftlichen Integrität sowie in konkreten Konfliktfällen (auch telefonisch durch die Geschäftsstelle).

  • Vermittlung

    Wir vermitteln bei Konflikten mit Bezug zur guten wissenschaftlichen Praxis (GWP) im Rahmen von Ombudsverfahren. Der Ombudsman hilft durch eine an den Regeln der GWP ausgerichtete und lösungsorientierte Konfliktmoderation, führt jedoch keine klassische Mediation durch.

  • Veranstaltungen

    Der Ombudsman organisiert Veranstaltungen zur guten wissenschaftlichen Praxis und hält regelmäßig Vorträge über die eigene Arbeit (Anfragen sind jederzeit möglich).

  • Vernetzung

    Der Ombudsman vernetzt sich national und international mit Expertinnen und Experten im Bereich der wissenschaftlichen Integrität. Anhand seiner Einzelfallerfahrung trägt er aktiv zur Weiterentwicklung und Aktualisierung der Empfehlungen zur GWP bei.

    Die Geschäftsstelle


    Die Geschäftsstelle ist die erste Anlaufstelle und Ansprechpartner bei Fragen zur wissenschaftlichen Integrität. Bei Bedarf berät sie Anfragende zunächst telefonisch. Wie das Ombudsgremium behandeln auch die Mitglieder der Ombudsman-Geschäftsstelle alle Anfragen streng vertraulich.

    Werden Anfragen schriftlich bei der Geschäftsstelle eingereicht, prüft diese die Unterlagen auf Vollständigkeit und leitet sie im Anschluss an die Gremiumsmitglieder weiter. Es kommt vor, dass die Geschäftsstelle bei einer E-Mail-Anfrage zunächst Rückfragen zur Klärung des Sachverhalts stellt oder um Belege bittet.

    Wissenschaftliche Referentinnen:

    Dr. Hjördis Czesnick (Leiterin der Geschäftsstelle)
    Fanny Oehme, M.Sc.
    Saskia Welde, M.A.

    Studentischer Mitarbeiter:

    Leander Raape

    Image Image Image
    Kontakt zum Ombudsman
    Kontakt zum Ombudsman

    Das Ombudsgremium


    Das Gremium des Ombudsman für die Wissenschaft wird durch den Senat der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DGF) eingesetzt. Es ist ehrenamtlich tätig. Alle Anfragen werden gemeinsam beraten und alle Einschätzungen gemeinsam getroffen. Es agiert in seinen Beratungen und Vermittlungen unabhängig. Die DFG wird nicht in Ombudsverfahren involviert oder über Verfahrensinhalte informiert.

    Die Amtszeit der Mitglieder des Ombudsgremiums beträgt vier Jahre, weitere Amtszeiten sind möglich.

    Derzeitiger Sprecher des Ombudsgremiums ist Herr Professor Dr. Stephan Rixen.

    Image

    Prof. Dr. Stephan Rixen (Sprecher)

    Universität Bayreuth
     Rechtswissenschaft


    MEHR ERFAHREN
    Image

    Prof. Dr. Renate Scheibe

    Universität Osnabrück
    Biologie


    MEHR ERFAHREN
    Image

    Prof. Dr. Daniela N. Männel

    Universität Regensburg
    Bio-Medizin


    MEHR ERFAHREN
    Image

    Prof. Dr. Joachim Heberle

    Freie Universität Berlin
    Physik


    MEHR ERFAHREN